Postage Stamp - Italy - 1932 (Aegean Islands)


Postage Stamp - Italy - 1932 (Aegean Islands)


Postage Stamp



Date Issued



In 1932, Italy issued a series of twelve stamps for the benefit of the Società Dante Alighieri. In addition to regular issue stamps and stamps for the Italian colonies, the government also issued stamps for the Italian Aegean Islands territory. The series depicts famous Italian poets and writers including (in order by increasing denomination) Giovanni Boccaccio, Niccolò Machiavelli, Paolo Sarpi, Vittorio Alfieri, Ugo Foscolo, Giacomo Leopardi, Giosuè Carducci, Carlo Botta, Torquato Tasso, Francesco Petrarca, Ludovico Ariosto, and Dante. The Dante stamp shows a portrait of the poet after the Naples Bust and symbols of Italy (coat of arms and fasces). Above the portrait is "POSTE ITALIANE" and below is "SOCIETÀ NAZIONALE DANTE ALIGHIERI". Below Dante's chin is "DANTE ALIGHIERI". The Italian Aegean Islands issue is overprinted with the phrase "ISOLE ITALIANE / DELL EGEO" and printed in brown. The premium of 2.50 lire was intended for the benefit of the society. The series was designed by Francesco Chiapelli and printed by the Istituto Poligrafico dello Stato, Officina Carte Valori.
Denomination: 10 + 2,50 LIRE (10 + 2.50 ITL)
Perforation: 14 (comb)
Printing process: Photogravure
Print run: 60,000


24 × 40 mm

Bibliographic Citation

Michel no. 81
Sassone no. 55
Scott no. 30


Francesco Chiapelli
Istituto Poligrafico dello Stato, Officina Carte Valori (Rome, Italy)